Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Sep 16, 2014 in Cultural | 0 comments

Chinese Food Culture – 6 Types of Chinese Cuisines

Chinese food culture, also called Chinese cuisine culture, has occupied an important part of Chinese culture in the aspect of cooking and leisure.

The importance of dining in Chinese culture dates back well before the start of the Common Era. In “The Importance of Living,” Chinese philosopher Lin Yutang wrote, “How a Chinese spirit glows on the good feast! How apt is he to weep out that life is beautiful when his stomach and the intestines are well filled! Out of this well-filled stomach suffuses and radiates a happiness that’s spiritual.” As new techniques and food sources became available, the Chinese food culture evolved with time.

Here are Six types of chinese cuisine:

Types of Chinese Cuisines

Types of Chinese Cuisines

Chuan (Sichuan)

Sichuan (spelled Szechuan within the once common Postal Romanization), is really a style of Chinese cuisine originating in the Sichuan Province of southwestern China famed for bold flavors, particularly the pungency and spiciness resulting from liberal use of garlic and chili peppers, along with the unique flavor of the Sichuan peppercorn and zhitianjiao. Peanuts, sesame paste and ginger will also be prominent ingredients in this style.

Hui (Anhui)

Anhui cuisine is among the Eight Culinary Traditions of China. It’s derived from the native cooking types of the Huangshan Mountains region in China and it is similar to Jiangsu cuisine, but with less emphasis on seafood and more on a wide variety of local herbs and vegetables. Anhui province is especially endowed with fresh bamboo and mushroom crops.

Lu (Shandong)

Shandong Cuisine is often and simply known as Lu cuisine. Having a long history, Shandong Cuisine once formed an important part of the imperial cuisine and was widely promoted in North China. However, it’s not so popular in South China. Shandong Cuisine is featured with a variety of cooking techniques and seafood. The normal dishes on local menu are braised abalone, braised trepang, sweet and sour carp, Jiuzhuan Dachang and Dezhou Chicken. Various Shandong snacks will also be worth trying.

Min (Fujian)

Fujian cuisine is a Fujian coastal region. Woodland delicacies such as edible mushrooms and bamboo shoots will also be utilized. Slicing techniques are valued within the cuisine and utilized to boost the flavor, aroma and texture of seafood along with other foods. Fujian cuisine is often served in a broth or soup, with cooking techniques including braising, stewing, steaming and boiling.

Chinese food culture

Chinese food culture

Su (Jiangsu, Huaiyang cuisine)

Jiangsu cuisine, also referred to as Su Cuisine for short, is one of the major aspects of Chinese cuisine, which consists of the types of Yangzhou, Nanjing, Suzhou and Zhenjiang dishes. It is very famous all over the world for its distinctive style and taste. It’s especially popular in the lower reach from the Yangtze River. Typical courses of Jiangsu cuisine are Jinling salted dried duck, crystal meat, clear crab shell meatballs, Yangzhou steamed Jerky strips, triple combo duck, dried duck.

Yue (Hong Kong and Guangdong)

The Cantonese type of dining, yum cha, combines the variety of dim sum dishes using the drinking of tea. Yum cha literally means ‘drink tea’. Cantonese style may be the unique and charm dishes, which have a long history and a good reputation both at home and abroad. It is common with other areas of the diet and cuisine in Chinese food culture. Back in ancient times, and the Central Plains on Lingnan Yue Chu family has close contacts. With the changes of dynasty historically, lots of people escaped the war and crossed the Central Plains, the increasing integration of the two communities.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.